Wed, Apr 17, 2024

UWE President Anne Nègre has been shortlisted for the 2021 Women of Europe Awards in the Woman in Business category. She was nominated by the University Women of Europe for her efforts in raising awareness of the Istanbul Convention, organising events at the Council of Europe to understand the obstacles to its implementation, having a recommendation voted by the Conference of INGOs, highlighting women’s movements in various countries and organizing training on LGBTI rights.

The Women of Europe Awards are jointly organised by the European Movement International and the European Women’s Lobby, building upon the national awards of several National European Movement Councils.

In 2021, the Women of Europe Awards’ celebrate its sixth anniversary. Indeed, the Women of Europe Awards were launched in 2016, to highlight the contribution of women in promoting and advancing European issues, and to increase the involvement of women in debates about Europe and its future. While the role of women in the European project remains largely unrecognised, the awards aim to acknowledge and showcase their inspiring initiatives which lend a voice to women across Europe and defend European values such as democracy, inclusion and diversity.

Women of Europe Awards, 2021 Edition
Date: Wednesday, 1 December 2021
Time: 16:00-17:00 CET

This edition of the Women of Europe award ceremony will be held online. The event will be live streamed on the European Movement’s FacebookTwitterYouTube and LinkedIn pages.

This year’s distinguished jury consists of female leaders from all walks of life across Europe, including

– Eva Maydell MEP, Group of the European People’s Party, President of the European Movement International
– Réka Sáfrány, President of European Women’s Lobby
– Maria Atanasova, Volunteer & Advocate for Integration of Roma Youth; winner of the Woman in Youth Activism award in 2020
– Elizabeth Adams, on behalf of the European Federation of Nurses Associations, which won the Women in Action award in 2020
– Sneška Quaedvlieg-Mihailović, Secretary General of Europa Nostra
– Sylwia Spurek MEP, Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance
– Pia Ahrenkilde Hansen, Director General of the Commission’s DG Communications, European Commission
– Federica Mogherini, Rector, College of Europe
– Asha Allen, Advocacy Director of the Centre for Democracy & Technology Europe
– Pirkko Mahlamaki, Secretary General of the Finnish Disability Forum

Shortlisted nominees in each category include:

Woman in Power | showing extraordinary political leadership in Europe
Kauthar Bouchallikht, Dutch Politician and Climate Activist
Angela Merkel, Chancellor of Germany
Silvia Costa, Extraordinary Commissioner of the Italian Government

Woman in Action | undertaking extraordinary actions at grassroots level in Europe
Jenny Rasche, Founder and Chairwoman of the Association “Kinderhilfe Für Siebenbürgen E.V.”
Ineta Ziemele, Judge at the Court of Justice of the European Union
Gina Miller, Activist and Anti-Brexit Campaigner

Woman in Business | advancing European integration with entrepreneurial spirit
Dr Özlem Türeci, Physician, Immunologist, Lecturer and Entrepreneur
Anne Nègre, Lawyer on Behalf of UWE
Tijen Onaran, CEO & Founder of GDW Global Digital Women

Woman in Youth Activism | for women aged 15 to 30 strengthening the voice of young women in Europe
Greta Thunberg, Swedish Climate Change Activist
Zorana Milovanovic, Project Manager at Evropski Pokret U Srbiji
Zahra Karimy, Activist for Women’s and Children’s Rights

More information regarding the 2020 Women of Europe Awards edition, including list of shortlisted nominees and winners, is available here.

Tags: , , , ,

Related Article


Leave a Comment